Install 500 error

Install 500 error, a forum discussion on Jojo CMS. Join us for more discussions on Install 500 error on our Installation forum.

Back to Forum Index : Back to Installation   RSS
ducylowycz

27 Nov 2007
Posts: 6

Hey Harvey,

I made it as far as .htaccess configuration, however now I am getting a 500 internal server error...ANY help?
Harvey

Core Developer

Harvey

27 Nov 2007
Posts: 327

Hi Mike,

500 error almost always that the Apache config is missing a setting required by Jojo - usually mod_rewrite or allowoverride with .htaccess.

Can you please show me the output of a phpinfo script, and I'll tell you if you have all the right things installed on your server.

Harvey.
ducylowycz

27 Nov 2007
Posts: 6

Harvey please excuse my ignorance...but I have no idea what you are talking about...the website I am trying to install it on is

www.sprintreview.com


harvey I gave you ftp access to I'm guessing the "root" here is the info.

xxxxxxxxxx login
xxxxxxxxxx pass

it's shared hosting on godaddies servers
ducylowycz

27 Nov 2007
Posts: 6

actually it's longer than I expected to set a ftp user...ummmm use mine....

xxxxxxxxxxxx:Username
xxxxxxxxxxxx:Password

www.sprintreview.com
Hosted on shared servers through godaddy.com

any help would be appreciated when it comes to this stuff you may consider me a "layman" I think you have an AWESOME product here and I would like to use it.

-Mike
mikec

Lead Developer

mikec

27 Nov 2007
Posts: 67

Hi,

You'll need to check with your shared hosting provider to see if they have mod_rewrite enabled on their servers.

Alternatively you can go through the .htacess file and comment the lines out, one at a time, and see which one is causing the error. Almost every line in there is critical but their may be a work around.

Let us know what you find out.

- Mike
ducylowycz

27 Nov 2007
Posts: 6

from the information I found on google.com mod_rewrite function is installed and handled at a "global" level...whatever that means.

I think at this point the benefits of using this system outweighs the time invested in it this morning.

I would like to thank the people that tried to help me out on the issue. I am just not a "tech-savvy" individual and use something that is a little more user-friendly.

Respectively,
-Mike
ducylowycz

27 Nov 2007
Posts: 6

I think I accidentally found a "workaround" I deleted the session/cookies line in the .htaccess file as far as I can tell the site is up and waiting for content...

does anyone want to verify this for me?
mikec

Lead Developer

mikec

27 Nov 2007
Posts: 67

Jojo will work without those two lines in the .htaccess, we have other checks for those php config values in the code as well.

- Mike :-)
Harvey

Core Developer

Harvey

27 Nov 2007
Posts: 327

There are definitely easier systems to work with out there, but one of the cool things about Jojo is that we have already spent the time required to figure all these complex things out, especially regarding the SEO aspects.

It does get easier once you have got past these hosting setup issues, but it also depends on how much customization you are planning on doing as well. If you need lots of customization, and want something easy, maybe something like Wordpress or Drupal would be better - where there are hundreds of pre-written plugins to customize how you like.

Otherwise, we are happy to help out where we can.

Cheers,

Harvey.
Back to Forum Index : Back to Installation   RSS
You must be logged in to post a reply



You need to Register or Log In before posting on these forums.