Custom Navigation

Custom Navigation, a forum discussion on Jojo CMS. Join us for more discussions on Custom Navigation on our Administration (backend and configuration) forum.

Back to Forum Index : Back to Administration (backend and configuration)   RSS
User

10 Jun 2008
Posts: 6

Evening,

I'm sure this must have been asked before (or the answer really obvious) but I can't find anything anywhere.

All that's missing from our lovely new Jojo site is :

i) Customised navigation menus (in addition to the default ones)
ii) The ability to show certain menus on certain pages

Any chance someone could point me in the right direction?

While I'm around would just like to mention how much I appreciate the software, stumbled upon it totally by accident and it was love at first sight. A donation will definitely be winging it's way to you when we reach production.

Many thanks for your time.
tom

Developer

tom

11 Jun 2008
Posts: 379

what kind of navigation are you looking for? - we use a standard global file for producing a multi-purpose nav array in our themes and tweak all the display options through the theme template(s) and css.

I'm hoping to get some time to look at the default themes at some point, mainly to add in a bit more variety in the way menus and templates are handled as example code.
User

11 Jun 2008
Posts: 6

Thanks for the reply,

Basically under Drupal, Joomla, etc. the admin can create additional custom menus featuring selected links and have them appear only on specific pages.

For instance, if I had a group of five pages about Cars, I could create a Navigation Menu featuring links to each of these five pages and only have it displayed where it would be relevant (eg. on these five pages).

Extremely useful for creating the perception of sections/subsections, etc.

I'm not sure if that's any better explained to be honest but hopefully you can see what I'm driving at :P

Is this possible with Jojo?

Thanks for your time.
tom

Developer

tom

12 Jun 2008
Posts: 379

You mean have sub-pages only show up in the navigation when you're in that section? (like on www.ahipara.com ) or have sub-sites with their own navigation? (kind of like ahipara does with the english and russian versions of the site - there's a language picker at the bottom of the page).

Do you have an example site that behaves the way you'd like yours to that you can put up a link to?

If it's the latter, you could, i guess, try using the languages table to define section names and do it that way?

True sub-siting is something we've looked at (where multiple domains have their own sections/navigation within a single Jojo site, but haven't got very far with yet.
User

13 Jun 2008
Posts: 6

Yeah, that's pretty much what I'm talking about. It allows the designer to create the illusion of sections/subsites without all the huge amount coding that goes into extending a CMS in that way.

Drupal for one allows this to be done on a page by page basis (ie. The admin creates pre-creates various menus and when creating a page can then decide whether to display each one or not) and I'm just wondering whether Jojo can do this?

I have a feeling this video - http://www.jojocms.org/blog/custom-sidebar-video/ - might be what I'm looking for but I'm damned if I can get it running. All the others seem to work, is anyone else having a similar problem?
tom

Developer

tom

13 Jun 2008
Posts: 379

still not sure which version it is you're after...

using the 'edit languages' section to create custom sub sites is probably your best bet if you want almost completely independent sections - but has the disadvantage that with the way it works now at least, you'll have to pick one of the section homes as your default for the site home page.

alternately, you could adjust the navigation display in your theme template to hide all top level menu items other than the one you're in (except on the home page). In some ways this would be more flexible, but you'd have to do it by editing the template file directly - it's not something that can be done through the admin section (afaik).
Ahipara does this in reverse to a small extent - the home page link doesn't show in the home page navigation, only when you're in a sub-section.

If you're just taking about only displaying the sub-pages in the navigation when you're in that sub-section (like Ahipara does) then that too is done through the template and css, and although not exactly straightforward, it's not too difficult either.

if any of these are what you're after i can post some example code up.
Back to Forum Index : Back to Administration (backend and configuration)   RSS
You must be logged in to post a reply



You need to Register or Log In before posting on these forums.