Unable to login

Unable to login, a forum discussion on Jojo CMS. Join us for more discussions on Unable to login on our Administration (backend and configuration) forum.

Back to Forum Index : Back to Administration (backend and configuration) Page [1] [2] >>  RSS
metalasfuk

10 Jun 2008
Posts: 2

G'day

I just installed Jojo for my site, and now I can't login to the admin panel. Any ideas why?
Harvey

Core Developer

Harvey

10 Jun 2008
Posts: 327

Username should be 'admin' and password the same as you entered previously in the setup process.

If you entered your email address correctly, you should be able to use the reset password functionality.

Let me know if still stuck.
metalasfuk

10 Jun 2008
Posts: 2

Thanks Harvey. For some reason the reminder thing wasn't working last night... maybe my brain was just fried! LOL

cheers for the help :-)
stevenhenderson

10 Jul 2008
Posts: 2

I've just tried this, and cannot login nor reset (even though the webmaster email is the default email address I have tried to reset). Looking at the user table in the database, the admin email was empty for some reason ... perhaps it is something to do with me using a custom Admin URI upon installation?

Either way, I manually inserted email address for admin user but am still geting the following message: "There was an error sending the Reset email. Please contact the webmaster for further help ..."

Is there an alternative way to setup a working admin user?
Harvey

Core Developer

Harvey

10 Jul 2008
Posts: 327

Seems odd that the above is happening, but there is another way to reset the admin account.

In PHPMyAdmin (or your database editor of choice), browse to the admin user record in the user table. Edit the record - clear the us_salt field, and clear the us_password field.

Next, add your password manually into the field - but you need to enter a SHA password. In phpMyAdmin this is easy, simply choose 'SHA1' from the dropdown next to the text field where you enter the new password and it will hash your password for you.

Also make sure the admin account hasn't been locked from too many failed login attempts (us_locked field should be set to zero).

Grab me on msn if you still can't get in (harvey@ this domain name).
stevenhenderson

10 Jul 2008
Posts: 2

Harvey said...
In PHPMyAdmin (or your database editor of choice), browse to the admin user record in the user table. Edit the record - clear the us_salt field, and clear the us_password field.

Next, add your password manually into the field - but you need to enter a SHA password. In phpMyAdmin this is easy, simply choose 'SHA1' from the dropdown next to the text field where you enter the new password and it will hash your password for you.


That did the trick. Seems odd it happened, but thanks for helping me to sort it out.
dennyhalim

10 Apr 2009
Posts: 44

same problem here. cant login.
clean installed jojocms rc1 twice and get same problem.

reset password cant works since no email is assigned for admin.

use phpmyadmin edit the password do works.
tnx for great free jojocms
ikohutua

11 Feb 2011
Posts: 3

I've got a similar problem. But nothing helps that is described above.
When I reset my password I receive a link on my email, following this link I get a new password. But when I try to log in whith this password, I get th error message 'Your username or password is incorrect'.
When I try to reset the password manually by updating the user table using SHA1, I get the same problem.
ayoub

11 Feb 2011
Posts: 39

Try this : Install jojo_community plugin manually in phpMyAdmin (if you cant do it i can send you the sql file. Make sure you have the jojo_community folder in your plugins folder either in your theme or jojo base dir) then do setup. Head to domain/register and register a new user. Finally go back to phpMyAdmin and add admin membership associated to your new user ID,

This works I just tried it (I just hope I was clear enough :P)
lex

10 May 2012
Posts: 6

i tried it all, but it does not work :-(
i can use jojo_community-plugin to add a new user and can see him in the sql-db with phpmyadmin.
but login is denied. "username or password incorrect" ...
anything left to try?
Jaijaz Jaijaz

10 May 2012
Posts: 215

Have you check that the usergroups are linked right and that the usergroup permissions are set correctly against the right pages?
If you not living on the edge you taking up too much space.
Rick Rick

10 May 2012
Posts: 336

The "username or password incorrect" part makes me think to step back a bit. I doubt it's even getting to the permissions system since it's not authenticating the user yet.

Since you're able to access PHPMyAdmin, you can try going to the user table and making sure the username is what you want it to be, update the email, update the password using the SHA1 modifier in PHPMyAdmin, empty the salt field and save.

If you've recently moved the site from a different URL/domain then you might wish to clear the cache folder and check the "siteurl" in the option table in PHPMyAdmin then run setup. Just in case.
lex

10 May 2012
Posts: 6

i tried this in the first place. did not work.
even if i reset the pw through the reset-email, the new password doest not work.
i don't understand what's wrong ...
Rick Rick

10 May 2012
Posts: 336

Really silly question, and I mean this in the kindest way as I know I've done this before...

Have you double checked config.php to see if you're using the database that you think you are?
lex

10 May 2012
Posts: 6

yes i did ;-)
it's the right one
Rick Rick

11 May 2012
Posts: 336

The logic for logging in happens in Local.php on line 12 using this query.

SELECT * FROM {user} WHERE us_login = ? AND (us_password = SHA1(CONCAT(?, us_salt)) OR us_password = MD5(CONCAT(?, us_salt))) AND us_locked = 0

After the substitutions are done it becomes this

SELECT * FROM user WHERE us_login = 'admin' AND (us_password = SHA1(CONCAT('mypasswordhere', us_salt)) OR us_password = MD5(CONCAT('mypasswordhere', us_salt))) AND us_locked = 0

What happens if you throw this query into PHPMyAdmin? I guess you've also checked that us_locked is set to 0.
lex

11 May 2012
Posts: 6

hi rick!
thanks for supporting me.
since all credentials are temporary i post them here.
here is what i recently did:
deleted us_salt and us_password value
reset us_failures and us_locked to 0
us_status is active
us_permissions - tried "null" checked an unchecked. does not make a difference. can't remember original value
inserted new password in us_password with function SHA1

login is denied

query: SELECT * FROM user WHERE us_login = 'admin' AND (us_password = SHA1(CONCAT('mesu9vu5', us_salt)) OR us_password = MD5(CONCAT('mesu9vu5', us_salt))) AND us_locked = 0

output: #1267 - Illegal mix of collations (latin1_swedish_ci,IMPLICIT) and (utf8_general_ci,COERCIBLE) for operation '='

don't know what that means ...
lynchpin

11 May 2012
Posts: 60

I've had the same problem on one of my sites. I tried everything I could then saw this post and saw you guys did the same stuff I have been doing.
I had the same error message as you mention above, and changed the collation of the us_login and us_password to utf8_general_ci and that fixed the problem for me.
I'm not sure what caused it though.
I run about 10 sites from a single install and only one site had the problem.
lex

11 May 2012
Posts: 6

where can i change this?
lynchpin

11 May 2012
Posts: 60

In Phpmyadmin, in the user table. Here is the sql to do it, so you can just run this:
ALTER TABLE `user` CHANGE `us_login` `us_login` VARCHAR( 20 ) CHARACTER SET utf8 COLLATE utf8_general_ci NOT NULL DEFAULT '',
CHANGE `us_password` `us_password` VARCHAR( 40 ) CHARACTER SET utf8 COLLATE utf8_general_ci NOT NULL DEFAULT ''
Back to Forum Index : Back to Administration (backend and configuration) Page [1] [2] >>  RSS
You must be logged in to post a reply



You need to Register or Log In before posting on these forums.